DIY: Temporary Bar

Happy New Year to all!

In celebration of the new year Naomi and I threw a little soirée with a few friends. I decided to create a DIY bar for the occasion, and I liked the result so much that I decided to share it with you.

IMG_1493

Instead of starting from scratch, I re-purposed my old desk into a bar with shelf and counter space. Feel free to use anything you like as a base.

Materials:

Chosen piece of furniture (desk, table, bookshelf, etc.)

Pretty paper for decoration

Fun or classy glasses (We used depression ware)

A strand of white lights

Push pins

Cutting board and knife

Small juicer/squeezer

Drink shaker

Ice and ice bucket

Liquors of your choosing

I started simple by attaching my printed paper to the wall behind the shelves on my desk. I found the antique silverware paper at Paper Source a week ago and fell in love with it. I had no idea what to do with a print so big, but luckily it was the perfect background for my bar!

IMG_1471_2

I decided the space could use a little extra light, so I strung white lights around the edges of the shelves using push pins to secure them.

Since the kitchen fridge was a bit far to go back and forth to for lemons, limes, mint, and juices, I decided to unearth my mini fridge from the basement and place it under my desk. It fit perfectly and was so useful to have there, but you can skip this part if you like.

IMG_1473_2

Then I stocked the bar and made sure I had all of my cocktail recipes on hand. I suggest picking out a few cocktails before purchasing your liquor so that you don’t end up buying a bunch of things you will only use for one cocktail.

Since we were attempting to keep it classy for the evening, Naomi and I chose a few vintage-style cocktails that had either gin or cognac as a base liquor, and that had shared extra ingredients like lemon juice, pineapple juice, bitters, or Falernum. We found our recipes in The New Old Bar, a fantastic book of classic cocktails and yummy snacks written by Chicago duo Steve McDonagh and Dan Smith which I highly recommend to anyone who is interested in dabbling in mixology.

To end my project I added a few tea lights for even more of a soft glow around the shelves and counter space, and compiled all of the tools I would need for the evening such as a cutting board, knife, juicer, shaker, ice bucket, and of course, bar towels.

IMG_1511_2

Here it is in action:

IMG_1513_2

IMG_0831_2

As you can see, there is more than enough room to work comfortably. I will definitely be trying this the next time we have guests!

As mentioned before, this is a temporary DIY (at least for me!). I had originally intended to build something a bit more permanent, but since this blog has become a new focus in my life, I am going to redesign the desk into my blog center. In the coming weeks I will be posting more pictures of this space as I begin to organize my supplies and create a working area for the blog.

Happy New Year!

Xoxo,

Lily

2 thoughts on “DIY: Temporary Bar

Leave a Reply

